AFRICAN SUMMIT ON FEMALE GENITAL        MUTILATIONS AND CHILD MARRIAGES

Information Note to Participants

The following information is on practical arrangements for your participation in the African Summit on FGM and Child Marriage, scheduled for 16-18 June 2019 in Dakar, Senegal, as well as the roadmap for the work.  We hope that these insights will help you to better prepare for and participate in the meeting.  For your registration and participation in the Summit, you can contact the organizing committee by Pour vos modalités d’inscription et de participation au Sommet, vous pouvez vous adresser au comité d'organisation en sending us an email   

The sessions will be held at King Fahd Palace Hotel




MEETING AGENDA AND ARRIVAL SCHEDULE

Meetings will be held every day from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm in the designated conference rooms of the King Fahd Hotel. Refreshment breaks  in the morning and afternoon as well as a lunch break are scheduled. Delegates from countries participating in the meeting are expected to arrive in Dakar on 15 June 2019 and depart on 19 June 2019 or as per their flight itinerary.

Please refer to your invitation letters for more details. 

Visa formalities                 

Le Sénégal est facile d’entrée  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visa_policy_of_Senegal).  La détention d’un passeport et d’un carnet de santé valides est la principale condition pour accéder au pays.  A noter que :

  • Nationals of ECOWAS, European Union (EU) member States and United States are exempt from visa requirements.

  • Nationals of countries not belonging to the three categories above will be able to get a visa free of charge upon arrival at the airport. However, to avoid possible difficulties, it is preferable to get   the visa in your country of origin. 

Kindly inform us, 10 to 15 days before your arrival, if you were unable to get an entry visa to Senegal in your country of origin.

A list of participants requiring a visa at the port of entry will submitted to the immigration authorities at Blaise Diagne International Airport.

Reception at the airport (AIBD) and transfer to the Hotel

 


The Organizing Committee ensures the transfer of participants from the airport to their hotels. A shuttle will be provided and ushers will welcome you outside the Immigration area with a AFRICAN FGM/CM SUMMIT signboard.
Kindly inform the Organizing Committee of any flight delay or cancellation. Participants are encouraged to stay in hotels booked in advance by the organizers in the vicinity of the meeting venue. The organizers will provide transportation from the designated hotels to the meeting venue.

 

 

Workshop documents and work hours

All documents / presentations will be sent to you by e-mail before the meetings. These include the concept note and agenda for the meeting. The meeting schedule will be indicated in the agenda that will be distributed together with the participant's kit.

 Organizing Committee  

                                

Meals                 

Only breakfast is included in the accommodation. Tea/coffee breaks and lunch will be provided during the meetings. 

Exchange Rate

There is a bureau de change (forex) at the airport .

The local currency is the CFA franc (FCFA or XOF)

To date, the exchange rate is:

  • 1 $US = 565 CFA Francs. However, it may be worth a little less or more.

  • 1 Euro = 655,957 CFAF.

ATMs are available at the airport and at the King Fahd Hotel including for VISA and MASTERCARD credit cards.

Registration

Registrations for the various meetings will take place from 16 June 2019 at 8 a.m. at the King Fahd Hotel. 


Working language

English, French and Arabic



Weather forecast 

The temperature in Dakar is relatively high at this time of year, ranging from 25 to 35 degrees Celsius for most of the day. It is cooler at night because most hotels are near the Atlantic Ocean.


Internet access

A free Internet connection is available 24 hours a day in the hotels. Please check in at registration.



Electricity 

Please bring adapters as indicated above. The electrical voltage in Senegal is 220 V.

      


 USEFUL INFORMATION                   

SIM CARDS AND PHONE CARD RELOADS. 

A SIM card costs 1000 CFA francs from the operators Orange and Expresso, and 500 CFA francs from the operator Tigo. They provide different data packages.


 MEDICAL FACILITIES 

If you need a doctor, contact the conference secretariat and arrangements will be made to allow you to seek medical attention from a licensed doctor. There are drugs stores ( pharmacies) to buy over-the-counter drugs. Please note that in Senegal, pharmacies are not allowed to sell drugs without a valid prescription from a licensed doctor.


SECURITY                     

Although Dakar is known to be a fairly safe city, participants who wish to leave the hotel are advised to contact the conference secretariat for information.

SOMMET AFRICAIN SUR LES MUTILATIONS GÉNITALES FÉMININES ET SUR LES MARIAGES D'ENFANTS

Note d'information aux participants

Les informations qui suivent concernent les dispositions pratiques pour votre participation au Sommet Africain sur les MGF et les Mariages d’Enfants, prévu du 16 au 18 juin 2019 à Dakar, Sénégal, ainsi que la feuille de route des travaux.    Nous espérons que ces éclairages vous aideront à mieux préparer la rencontre et à y participer.  Pour vos modalités d’inscription et de participation au Sommet, vous pouvez vous adresser au comité d'organisation en nous envoyant un mail   

Les sessions se tiendrons à l'hôtel King Fahd Palace




PROGRAMME DE RÉUNION ET CALENDRIER D'ARRIVÉE

Les réunions se tiendront tous les jours de 8h00 à 17h00 dans les salles réservées de l’hôtel King Fahd. Des pauses-rafraîchissements sont prévues le matin et l'après-midi ainsi qu'une pause déjeuner. Les  délégués de pays participant à la réunion devraient arriver à Dakar le 15 juin 2019 et repartir le 19 juin 2019 ou selon leur plan de vol.  

Veuillez-vous référer à vos lettres d'invitation. 

Formalité pour l'obtention du visa

Le Sénégal est facile d’entrée  (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visa_policy_of_Senegal).  La détention d’un passeport et d’un carnet de santé valides est la principale condition pour accéder au pays.  A noter que :

  • Les ressortissants de pays membres de la CEDEAO, de l'Union européenne (UE) et des Etats unies sont exemptés de visa. 

  • Les ressortissants de pays n'appartenant pas aux trois catégories ci-dessus pourront avoir un visa gratuitement à l'arrivée à l'aéroport. Cependant, pour parer à d'éventuelles difficultés, il est préférable de chercher le visa dans son pays d'origine. 

Si vous n'êtes pas en mesure d'obtenir un visa d'entrée au Sénégal, veuillez nous le faire savoir 10 à 15 jours avant votre arrivée.

Une liste des participants ayant besoin d'un visa au port d'entrée sera établie et soumise aux autorités de l'immigration de l'aéroport international Blaise Diagne.

Accueil à l'aéroport (AIBD) et transfert à l'Hôtel

 



Le comité d’organisation assure le transfert des participants de l’aéroport à leur hôtel. Une navette sera mise à disposition et des hôtesses vont vous accueillir au sortir de la zone d’identification (police) avec une pancarte portant la mention SOMMET AFRICAIN MGF/ME. En cas de retard ou d’annulation de votre vol, veuillez informer le Comité d’organisation. Les participants sont encouragés à séjourner dans des hôtels réservés à l'avance par les organisateurs à proximité du lieu de la réunion. Les organisateurs assureront le transport des hôtels désignés au lieu de la réunion. 

 

 

Documents de l'atelier et heures de travail

Tous les documents / présentations vous seront envoyés par courrier électronique avant les réunions. Ceux-ci incluent la note conceptuelle et l'ordre du jour de la rencontre. L’horaire des réunions sera indiqué dans l’agenda qui sera distribué avec le kit du participant. 

 Comité d'organisation  

                                

Repas

Seul le petit déjeuner est inclus dans l’hébergement. Les pauses thé / café et le déjeuner seront offerts pendant les réunions. 

Taux de change

Un bureau de change est installé à l’aéroport

La monnaie locale est le franc CFA (FCFA ou XOF)

À ce jour, le taux de change est de :

  • 1 $US = 565 francs CFA. Il peut cependant valoir un peu moins ou valoir plus.

  • 1 Euro = 655,957 FCFA.

Des guichets automatiques sont disponibles à l’aéroport et à l’hôtel King Fahd. Les cartes de crédit internationales VISA et MASTERCARD sont utilisables.

Enregistrement

L'inscription aux différentes réunions a lieu à partir du 16 juin 2019 à 8 heures à l’hôtel King Fahd. 

Langue de travail

Anglais, Français, Portugais et Arabe

Météo

La température à Dakar est relativement élevée en cette période de l'année, allant de 25 à 35 degrés Celsius pendant la majeure partie de la journée. Elle est légère la nuit du fait que la plupart des hôtels sont à côté de l'Océan Atlantique.


Accès à internet

Une connexion Internet gratuite est disponible 24h / 24 dans les hôtels. Veuillez vous renseigner à l'enregistrement.



Courant électrique 

Veuillez apporter des adaptateurs comme indiqué ci-dessus. La tension électrique au  Sénégal est de 220 V.

      


 INFOS PRATIQUES

CARTES SIM ET RECHARGES DE CARTES TÉLÉPHONIQUES.

Une carte SIM coûte 1000 F Cfa auprès des opérateurs Orange et Expresso et 500 F Cfa chez l’opérateur Tigo. Ils fournissent différentes offres pour internet.


ÉTABLISSEMENTS MÉDICAUX

Si vous avez besoin d'un médecin, contactez le secrétariat de la conférence et des dispositions seront prises pour vous permettre de consulter un médecin agréé.  Si vous devez acheter des médicaments en vente libre, vous trouverez une pharmacie. Veuillez noter qu'au Sénégal, les pharmacies ne sont pas autorisées à vendre des médicaments sans une prescription valide d'un médecin agréé.


SECURITE

Bien que Dakar soit réputée être une ville assez sûre, il est conseillé aux participants qui souhaitent sortir des locaux de l’hôtel de s’informer auprès du secrétariat de la conférence.